NYX Single Eyeshadows

The very first NYX products I purchased were its single eyeshadows. I was just into make-up and all that jazz a few years back when I set my eyes on MAC eyeshadows. They had pretty wide variation  of colors yet the price was around 15 EUR for each eyeshadow pan at that time (now 17 EUR) here in the Netherlands.  As a student, the price was way above my price range especially when I intended to buy more than one (or seven). I was searching for good quality eyeshadow within my price range I was willing to pay for, when I came across NYX single eyeshadow.

Then again, this is not a blog post comparing MAC eyeshadows and NYX eyeshadows since I don’t own any MAC one but I’m pretty sure they are fantastic.

There are more than 150 shades in the collection and I own 15 of them. Each shade contains 2.7 gr packaged in a black square container with a clear lid, which in my opinion is very sturdy and sleek. It costs 4.50 USD for each shade but the price may varied depending where you buy. Without further a do, these are the 15 swatches and I will explain as I go along with each color group. The swatches were taken without an eyeshadow primer.

So, shall we?

NYX eyeshadow green

Upper: (left to right) Mermaid Green, Kiwi, Lake Algae. Lower: (top to bottom) Mermaid, Kiwi, Lake Algae.

Mermaid Green is a forest green color and it has a frosty/subtle shimmer finish. Kiwi is exactly like the color of the Kiwi fruit and it has a frosty finish. Lake Algae is a bright muted green and it has a matte finish.

NYX eyeshadow blue

Upper: (left to right) Atlantic, Kiss in Casablanca, Pacific. Lower: (top to bottom) Atlantic, Kiss in Casablanca, Pacific.

Atlantic is a deep blue color with a tint of purple undertone and it has a matte finish. Kiss in Casablanca is a bright royal blue color and it has a metallic finish. Pacific is a blue silver color with a purple undertone and it has a frosty finish.

NYX eyeshadow purple

Upper: (left to right) Deep Purple, Purple, Luxor. Lower: (top to bottom) Deep Purple, Purple, Luxor.

Deep Purple is an eggplant color and it has a metallic finish. Purple is a true purple color and it has a frosty finish. Luxor is a a bright purple color with a slight of pink tint and it has a frosty finish.

NYX eyeshadow pink

Upper: (left to right) Hot Pink, Sweet Pink, Cotton Candy. Lower: (top to bottom) Hot Pink, Sweet Pink, Cotton Candy.

Hot Pink is a bright Barbie pink and it has a matte finish. Sweet Pink is a subtle bubblegum pink color and it has a frosty finish. Cotton Candy is a peachy pink color and it has a frosty finish.

NYX eyeshadow brown

Upper: (left to right) Taupe, Golden, Ray. Lower: (top to bottom) Taupe, Golden, Ray.

Taupe is a light gold brown and it has a sheer/frosty finish. Golden is a dark shimmery gold and it has a metallic finish. Ray is a dark yellow color and it has a sheer/metallic finish.

***

My take on them is they are highly pigmented and goes on smoothly on the eyelid. Creamy texture and not too chalky, hence minor fallout. Overall, the quality is very good for how much I have spent.

IMG-20130702-WA000

