We Share Beauty Featuring Jennifer Angela

Hi Jennifer! Tell us a little bit about yourself and what you have been up to these days.

My name is Jennifer Angela, I’m 21 years old and I’m a native Indonesian with Chinese descent. I currently work for myself, creating an up-and-coming line of upscale home fragrance that’s about to be launched soon. I also co-own an outerwear fashion line with my friends called Alter Cotton.photo (1)

We heard that you are into high end make-up brands, why do you prefer to go with high end brands in general? 

My love for high-end products has started since I was really young, like in the beginning of middle school. My aunt, who’s an avid lover of high-end beauty products, kinda introduced me to the whole thing. I remember being given a Diorshow mascara and a Lancome eyeshadow palette when I was just 13! It sort of triggered my interest and then it became a passion when I was living in Milan.

I love high-end make-up brands not just because of their names, but more into their qualities and the packaging as well. I’m also a sucker for seasonal items; I wouldn’t mind go the extra mile to get the products that I want. For me, beauty products go beyond their function and collecting them is like a hobby.

Do you mind sharing some of your favorite make-up products with us?

Unfortunately, the product selection in Indonesia is very limited and much more expensive. However, I’m blessed enough to travel outside of Indonesia every once in a while, where I can hunt my favorite brands and discover new products to be loved. I found it VERY HARD to select only one favorite product for each category but these are the ones that made the cut.

foto gabungan 1

1.) Giorgio Armani Face Fabric, 2.) Giorgio Armani Fluid Master Primer, 3.) Chanel Poudre Universelle Libre, 4.) Cle de Peau concealer.

Primer : Giorgio Armani Fluid Master Primer 34 GBP

I love almost all of Giorgio Armani products and this primer is no exception. It will give you a silicone-feel after being applied, making your skin really smooth. It doesn’t break me out and makes the make-up last longer.

Foundation: Giorgio Armani Face Fabric 31 GBP

I love to try different types from different brands, but somehow I use this one more often than the others. I wouldn’t say this is a foundation because the consistency is like a thicker version of BB cream. It doesn’t give you full coverage; just enough to cover redness and some imperfection. Again, it gives you that silicon-feel on your skin.

Concealer: Cle de Peau Concealer 48.69 GBP

Hands down the best concealer I’ve tried so far! Finding this product has put the long hunt for the perfect concealer to a happy end. I would recommend you to try it first before you make a purchase as the color selection is very limited and because of the hefty price tag too.

Powder: Chanel Poudre Universelle Libre (loose powder) 36 GBP

I use different powders for different purposes, but this is my favorite among them. I sometimes use it to set the foundation or on its own because it gives you a natural finish. The downside of this product is the bulky packaging. Luckily, they also have the compact version which is more handy to carry in my handbag.

foto gabungan 2

1.) Tom Ford Eyeshadow Quad in Cognac Sable, 2.) Kanebo KATE Super Sharp Line, 3.) Giorgio Armani Eyes To Kill in no.20, 4.) Giorgio Armani Eyes To Kill Waterproof Eyeliner, 5.) NARS Pro-Prime Smudge Proof Eyeshadow Base.

Eye primer: NARS Pro-Prime Smudge Proof Eyeshadow Base 19 GBP

I love the texture of this product, creamy but glides on easily. It holds the eye-makeup so well and makes the color appear more vibrant.

Eyeshadow: Giorgio Armani Eyes To Kill 26 GBP & Tom Ford Eyeshadow Quad 62 GBP

Giorgio Armani Eyes To Kill is a powdery yet creamy eyeshadow that gives amazing color pay-off. Basically, the Eyes To Kill Intense Eyeshadow line is rich refined colour pigments. The colours are so pigmented that a little goes a long way. It could be worn alone, but I would suggest you to combine it with pressed eyeshadows. I have the limited edition in no. 20.

Tom Ford Eyeshadow Quad really lives up to its name and price. When used dry, it has a good color pay-off. Even more so, it gives excellent pay-off when used damp. It also has the most amazing shimmer and glitters I’ve ever seen. My favourite is the Cognac Sable

Eyeliner: Kanebo KATE Super Sharp Liner 10.50 USD & Giorgio Armani Eyes To Kill Waterproof Eyeliner 19 GBP

I love liquid eyeliner and tried every type of brands from high end to drugstore. My holy grail would be from KATE, a drugstore equivalent line owned by Kanebo. I think it’s only available in Asia region, but sadly not in Indonesia.

For pencil eyeliner, Giorgio Armani eyeliner is the best (no competition at all). It gives the most pigmented color, lasts super long and smudge-proof too. It was originally a limited edition item, but they decided to put it as a permanent line due to the high demand.

foto gabungan 3

Left to right: Dior Maximizer Lash Plumping Serum, Diorshow Blackout Waterproof Mascara, Diorshow Iconic Mascara.

Mascara: Diorshow Maximizer Lash Plumping Serum 23 GBP, Diorshow Blackout Waterproof Mascara 23 GBP and Diorshow Iconic Mascara 23 GBP

I love Dior mascaras. I’ve tried all of their mascaras, but these three are my favorites and I always use them altogether. The Diorshow Maximizer Lash Plumping Serum is a primer that protects the lashes and gives more definition when being layered with mascaras. The Diorshow Iconic Mascara lengthens the lashes, while giving curl and lift. The Diorshow Blackout Mascara finishes the whole look with extra volume and more defined black lashes.

foto gabungan 4

Upper left: Laura Mercier Mineral Powder in Warm Bronze. Lower left: NARS in Deep Throat. Right: Burberry Fresh Glow Luminous Fluid Base.

Blush: NARS in Deep Throat 21.50 GBP

I love almost all of NARS blushes to begin with (except NARS Orgasm, which I hate). With subdued shimmer and soft texture, NARS Deep Throat is an excellent color to wear on a daily basis. However, it is considered as one of NARS less pigmented blushes.

Bronzer: Laura Mercier Mineral Powder in Warm Bronze 31 GBP

I’m a true bronzer girl, as I love bronzer so much and it’s my favorite pick up item to buy. Of all the bronzers that I have, this one is my most favorite. It’s a mineral loose powder that could be tricky to work with in the beginning. It’s very buildable and you need very little amount of it. The downside is the packaging. It’s bulky so it’s not easy to travel with. In my opinion, Laura Mercier always has bad packaging anyway; a contender for Benefit.

Highlighter: Burberry Fresh Glow Luminous Fluid Base 34 GBP

I don’t use highlighter that often as sometimes my face gets greasy after a few hours wearing make-up. I like this product because it’s not as apparent as many liquid highlighters. The shimmer is very subtle and light, making it perfect for those who prefer the natural sheen on their face. I wear it over the foundation as liquid highlighter, where it’s actually a face primer that can be worn as a base for the whole face to give a healthy glow.

foto gabungan 5

Left to right: Tom Ford in Sahara Pink. Tom Ford Lip Color in Sable Smoke.

Lipgloss: Tom Ford in Sahara Pink 32 GBP
I don’t really buy lipgloss that often as I’m not a fan of lipgloss. I’m more of a lipstick gal. If I’m looking for a bit of shine, I tend to go for shiny lipstick. On the other hand, I do love this lipgloss because of its versatility. It’s great when worn alone, it gives an opaque neutral rose pink color. It’s also great when paired with other lip colour such as Tom Ford’s Violet Fatale lipstick.

Lipstick: Tom Ford Lip Color in Sable Smoke 36 GBP

I love to collect lipsticks from different brands in various colours, it’s one of my favorite make-up items to add to my arsenal. Unfortunately, my lips don’t seem to cooperate well with my hobby as almost ALL of the lipsticks in the market tend to dry out my lips. Tom Ford is one of the few brands that seem to work better on my lips, but not their first generation of lipsticks (the ones in white packaging). All of the colours are amazing and the formulation is excellent. It’s very creamy and pigmented. It’s very hard for me to choose just one color as I love all of them. If I REALLY have to pick my favourite, I would go for my very first love that started the whole Tom Ford obsession which is the Sable Smoke.

