& Other Stories Continues…

I first noticed the line, & Other Stories, when I was watching one of the youtube videos of Kate from gh0stparties. It was launched during spring this year, so it’s still fairly new. I was particularly drawn by the fact that it’s actually owned by the H&M Group who also owns the more expensive brand COS. Style-wise, they gravitate more toward COS which is very chic. The good news is that they have some stuff that are more affordable and more importantly, they bring some interesting beauty products into their own line as well as stock some other good brands. The first thing that I like about their beauty products is the packaging. There’s something about the design that’s so appealing to me. It’s like COS in a bottle or COS in a pot or in a pan or in a stick if you know what I mean, but of course we can’t judge a book by its cover right? So, when I was in London I took the time to visit their store to see if they’re as good as they look. I finally went home with 2 body products, 1 skincare and 1 nail polish:

photo (3)

& Other Stories Fig Fiction Body Scrub 7 GBP

It’s a sugar scrub with strong, obviously, fig scent which I apparently like (this is my very first fig-smelling product I’ve ever bought). I’m not sure about you, but to me, it is one of those luxury musky scents that makes my pampering nights even more delightful! I’ve only tried two sugar-based body scrubs so far (the other one being the Soap and Glory Sugar Crush Body Scrub) and they have pretty much the same gel-like texture. This one, however, feels thicker and it quickly dissolves into cream once you work it out on your body. I know this fact isn’t the best, but it still does the job. It leaves my skin so soft and because it’s creamy, it leaves my skin moisturised as well.

& Other Stories Punk Bouquet Body Mist 12 GBP

I remember I used to love vanilla scent so much and wore it a lot during my high school days. I don’t know what happened, but it just doesn’t appeal to me anymore (maybe because I had too much already).  These days, this product is the only exception. It has the best sweet vanilla-like scent I’ve ever smelled. It’s sweet, but in a sophisticated way. I also love the fact that it lingers quite well on me. I didn’t realize how much I love this product until I was looking for this lovely smell around me the other day and realized that it came from my wrist (silly!)

& Other Stories Nail Color in Velour Blue 5 GBP

That day I particularly was looking for something different, something that I don’t always go with. They have a good variety range of colors and while I was strolling down the section, this particular navy blue color caught my eyes. I never had this color before and I found it quite flattering. I think it’s a good replacement for black if you don’t fancy black but you want to rock the same style. It’s very opaque so you can get away with a single coat though it will chip easily in that case. It gives a glossy finish and it dries very quickly as well.

TheBalm TimeBalm White Tea Apricot Skin Renewal Cream 19 GBP

This isn’t part of the & Other Stories line obviously, but I bought it when I was there as well so I thought I will just include it here. When I heard lovely thoughts from Kate about this product I decided to give it a try. This is the first time I’ve ever tried an exfoliating moisturizer and I have to say that I really like it. It contains alpha hydroxy acid (AHA) that works as an exfoliant to get rid of the dead skin cells on the surface.  As warned on the label, this product may increase the skin’s sensitivity to the sun due to the AHA it contains. It says that you can wear this product during the day as well, but for this exact reason I choose to use it in my nighttime skincare routine. Also, it’s such a rich cream that can be quite heavy to wear during the day (depends on your preference of course). Since I use this product, I feel like my face is more plump, smoother and brighter in the morning. To me, the only downside of this product is the scent. I’m not sure if it’s me (I hope not), but I’m not very fond of the smell. I don’t know what it is though. The combination of white tea and apricot extract maybe? It’s okay sometimes, but there are days when I feel like it just… stinks. Too bad 😦

If you’re in the UK, have you tried any good & Other Stories beauty product? I think their body soufflé is interesting as well. I might get it next time I’m in store.

photo (1)

