Maybelline LastingDrama Gel Liner Pen

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

I just want to give a quick report on the Maybelline Lasting Drama Gel Liner Pen that I recently bought. I’ve been using the Maybelline Lasting Drama Gel Eyeliner for years and I’m a big fan of it. I’ve tried the MAC Gel Eyeliner before and for half the price, the Maybelline one is just as good. It glides on easily and last throughout the day. The only inconvenient thing about it is probably the brush applicator. To me it feels like a double work and I know some people are a little bit put off by this fact. So when the pen-version of it came out, I really want to try it because I thought it’s a really good idea!

When I first opened the screw-lid, there was a tiny red stopper as shown in the picture above. To be honest, I’m not sure what the purpose of it. Should I keep it and place it back after use? Or it is there to make sure that the pen hasn’t been used yet and you can just throw it away? Anyway, I threw mine away (please don’t tell me I should’ve kept it). The pen comes with an angled rubber tip where the product comes out as you twist the bottom part around.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

I have to say that the rubber tip is not as flexible as the brush, but the fact that it’s angled makes it easier if you want to do a winged eye look. However, I find that one twist gives too much product out of the tip. I’ve been using it couple of times and I can’t seem to draw a nice thin line with it.  Maybe it’s just me, but in this case I prefer the brush because at least I can control the amount of product I want to use. At the end of the day, I would rather apply more product  than having to take it off once it’s nicely sat on my face. I would probably still use this if I’m going with a thick winged eye look. But for everyday use, this is just too much for me.

photo (1) 

